Agenda Item 6

SHEFFIELD CITY COUNCIL

ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING – 19TH MAY, 2021

ITEM 6 - EXECUTIVE ARRANGEMENTS AND SHADOW CABINET APPOINTMENTS FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2021-22

It is moved by Councillor Tony Damms, seconded by Councillor Joe Otten, that the City Council:-

(a) notes the Leader's notification of the appointment of a Deputy Leader and Cabinet Members, including their portfolio areas of responsibility, and the appointment of Cabinet Members to serve on the Cabinet Highways Committee (including substitutes), and approves the appointment of Cabinet Advisers, all as detailed in the schedule circulated at the meeting;

(b) notes that the Leader's scheme of delegation currently in operation for the discharge of Executive functions will continue, other than in relation to the names and remits of some of the Portfolios of the Cabinet Members, which will be required to be changed to reflect the appointments now made by the Leader, and these will be published and circulated to all Members in the near future;

(c) notes the main opposition group's notification of the Leader of the Opposition and approves the appointment of Shadow Cabinet Members, as detailed in the schedule circulated at the meeting; and

(d) notes that the effect of these appointments upon the Special Responsibility Allowance element of the budget for Members' Allowances is cost neutral compared to the arrangements in place currently.

APPOINTMENT OF CABINET MEMBERS, CABINET ADVISERS AND MEMBERS OF THE CABINET HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE 2021/22

Title/Post	Name	Ward
CABINET:-		
Portfolio:-		
Leader	Councillor Terry Fox	Manor Castle
Deputy Leader	Councillor Julie Grocutt	Stocksbridge & Upper Don
City Futures, Development, Culture and Regeneration	Councillor Mazher Iqbal	Darnall
Education, Children and Families	Councillor Jayne Dunn	Southey
Finance	Councillor Cate McDonald	Gleadless Valley
Health and Social Care	Councillor George Lindars- Hammond	Hillsborough
Housing, Roads and Waste Management	Councillor Paul Wood	Woodhouse
Climate Change, Environment and Transport	Councillor Douglas Johnson	City
Inclusive Economy, Jobs and Skills	Councillor Paul Turpin	Gleadless Valley
Sustainable Neighbourhoods, Wellbeing, Parks and Leisure	Councillor Alison Teal	Nether Edge & Sharrow
Cabinet Highways Committee	Cllrs Douglas Johnson, Julie Grocutt, Mazher Iqbal and Paul Wood	
Cabinet Highways Committee Substitute Members:-	Cllrs Jayne Dunn, Terry Fox, George Lindars- Hammond, Cate McDonald, Paul Turpin and Alison Teal	

	Name	Ward
CABINET ADVISERS:-		
Portfolio:-		
Leadership	Councillors Bryan Lodge and Abtisam Mohamed	
City Futures, Development, Culture and Regeneration	Councillor Abdul Khayum	
Education, Children and Families	Councillor Mike Drabble	
Finance	Councillor Mike Chaplin	
Health and Social Care	Councillor Ben Miskell	
Housing, Roads and Waste Management	Councillor Sophie Wilson	
Climate Change, Environment and Transport	Councillor Ruth Mersereau	
Inclusive Economy, Jobs and Skills	Councillor Angela Argenzio	
Sustainable Neighbourhoods, Wellbeing, Parks and Leisure	Councillor Brian Holmshaw	

APPOINTMENT OF SHADOW CABINET MEMBERS 2021/22

Title/Post	Name	Ward
Spokespersons (Shadow Cabinet)		
Portfolio:-		
Leader	Councillor Shaffaq Mohammmed	Ecclesall
Business and Investment	Councillor Martin Smith	Dore & Totley
Children and Families	Councillor Mike Levery	West Ecclesfield
Culture, Parks and Leisure	Councillor Andrew Sangar	Fulwood
Education and Skills	Councillor Mohammed Mahroof	Crookes & Crosspool
Environment, Streetscene and Climate Change	Councillor Tim Huggan	Crookes & Crosspool
Finance, Resources and Governance	Councillor Simon Clement- Jones	Beauchief & Greenhill
Health and Social Care	Councillor Steve Ayris	Graves Park
Neighbourhoods and Community Safety	Councillor Penny Baker (Deputy Leader)	Stannington
Transport and Development	Councillor Joe Otten	Dore & Totley